If your subscription ends either because it expires or because you decide to cancel your access to www.office.com/setup Office 365 services, application, and customer data go through multiple states before the subscription is fully turned off. If you know about the progression, you will be better equipped to return your subscription to an active state before it’s too late. Back up your data before it is eventually removed.
Find out when your office 365 subscription expires beforehand
Check your expiration status
1. Go to your service and subscription page.
2. If prompted, choose sign in and enter the Microsoft account email and password associated with your Office.com/setup Subscription.
3. Review the details under the service and subscription heading.
If you see a round arrow, then your subscription is set up for periodic billing, unless you turn recurring billing off or cancel it beforehand. The next charge info shows you when you will be charged next, and for how much. If you see a date on expiring on then your subscription will expire on the date, unless you renew.
What are my options if the subscription is about to expire?
While a subscription is active you and your end users have normal access to your data, services like email and One Drive for business, and Office Com Setup applications. As the admin, you will receive a series of notification via email and in the admin center as your subscription nears its expiration date.
You have a few options before the subscription reaches its expiration date:
• Enable recurring billing for the subscription: you just have to turn on your recurring billing option. Your subscription will be billed on its next billing date and you will be charged for an additional year or month, depending on your current payment frequency.
• Let the subscription expire: if you’re paying by credit card or invoice and you don’t want to continue your subscription turn off your recurring billing. Your payment will expire on its finishing date and you can disregard all related email notifications.
• Just cancel before the subscription expires.
If you let your subscription expires it goes through multiple states before it is ultimately deleted. This gives you as an admin time to reactivate if you want to continue the service or to back up your data if you decide you no longer want the subscription.